Contact Us

Use the form on the right to contact us


23 Berkeley Square
London, England, W1J 6EJ
United Kingdom

21 Year Celebration at the Royal Society

21 Year Celebration at the Royal Society


On 21 February 2011, Sciteb celebrated its 21st year with a panel discussion and reception at the Royal Society. The panellists were:

  • Robert May (Prof Lord May of Oxford OM AC FRS), a Professor at Oxford University and Imperial College, London. Robert was President of The Royal Society (2000-2005), and Chief Scientific Adviser to the UK Government and Head of the UK Office of Science and Technology (1995-2000). His many honours include: the Royal Swedish Academy's Crafoord Prize (bioscience and ecology's equivalent of a Nobel Prize); the Balzan Prize (for "seminal contributions to [understanding] biodiversity"); the Blue Planet Prize ("for developing fundamental tools for ecological conservation planning"); and the Royal Society's Copley Medal. He collaborates with Nicholas on developing new approaches to systemic financial regulation (see these articles in Nature and the FT).
  • Sir John Parker FREng, Chairman of National Grid and Anglo American, and President designate of the Royal Academy of Engineering. Sir John is Vice Chairman of DP World (Dubai), a Non Executive Director of Carnival Corporation and EADS, and Chancellor of the University of Southampton. He has been a member of Sciteb's Sector Dialogue Steering Group for over 10 years.
  • Ian Davis, a non-executive director of BP and of the Cabinet Office. Ian was Chairman and worldwide managing director of McKinsey (2003-2009), having previously been managing partner of McKinsey's practice in the UK and Ireland (1996-2003). During his career with McKinsey, Ian served as a consultant on a range of global organizations across the private, public and not-for-profit sectors.
  • Nicholas Beale FRSA, Director of Sciteb.